Potomac Valley Golden Retriever Club

The Hap Arnold Good Sportsmanship Award recognizes a member who has contributed unselfishly to the Potomac Valley Golden Retriever Club and to the advancement of the sport of dogs, without regard to personal honor.  For those of you who did not have the pleasure of knowing him, a little about Hap Arnold: Hobart Sloan Arnold, Hap, was among the founders of PVGRC and a Lifetime Member of the Club. He passed away in August 1994. Hap finished his first Golden champion, Rebel, about 50 years ago. Over the years, Hap served as Club President, Specialty Secretary, and Specialty Show Announcer. He gave his service as Conformation Ring Steward countless times, and was the official Statistician for the GRCA for over 20 years.   Just months before his death, and in failing health, Hap stepped forward to serve as Chief Conformation Steward for the 1994 Eastern Regional Specialty, when no one else would.  A teacher of those new to the game, a trusted friend of old‐timers, and a man dedicated to the Golden Retriever and the sport of dogs, we are proud to honor his memory.

In recognition of Hap, the Hap Arnold Good Sportsmanship Award has been issued each year to a member or members who embody his spirit and dedication. Here are the past winners of the award:

2022 - Molly McEvoy

2019 – Ann Strathern

2018 – Sharon & Jeff Ackerson

2017 - Karen Shumaker

2016 – Beth Sokohl

2015 – Rita Bumgardner

2014 – Debbie Barrows

2013 – Andy Moore

2012 – Bill & Marie Huffman

2011 – Cher & John Snyder

2010 – Marge Paulding

2009 – Laurie Collins

2008 – Bob Kurtz

2007 – Sharon Albright

2006 – Sue Armstrong

2005 – Rodger Armstrong

2004 – Janice Benge

2003 – Nick DeCesare

2002 – Dan & Carol Lewis

2001 – Leslie Peszczynski

2000 – Joann Rice

1999 – Robert Bunge

1998 – Sharon & Clayton Kilrain

1997 – Bob Crowley